Bishop’s Commission on Liturgy and Music


The mission of the Bishop’s Commission on Liturgy and Music is to assist the bishop of the diocese as chief liturgical officer; to provide resources, support and materials for the training of others who function in the liturgy; to support the annual and other liturgical events of the diocesan community, and to network with other Diocesan Liturgical Commissions and the Episcopal Church’s Liturgical Commission, the seminaries and the wider academic community, and others who shape the continuing development in the understanding and practice of the liturgy of the Church.


The commission serves the people of the Diocese of Los Angeles by seeking to enrich our communal worship life. Its scope of work ranges from coordinating and planning diocesan liturgies (such as Diocesan Convention and Clergy Conference) and supporting parishes as they train their liturgical leaders to collating and commending expansive liturgical texts to the work of the SCLM (Standing Commission on Liturgy and Music) and the General Convention prayer book revision process.

The commission’s goals include:

  • Creating and implementing vibrant and formative diocesan liturgies, including but not limited to Diocesan Convention
  • Providing access through the Diocesan website to expansive liturgies, position papers on liturgical topics, and links to liturgical resources for use throughout the diocesan community
  • Collecting the liturgical resources created by worshipping communities, reflecting on same, and discerning which resources to share with all worshipping communities in the Diocese and with the Task Force on Liturgical and Prayer Book Revision (TFLPBR) established by General Convention Resolution A068*

*The 79th General Convention of the Episcopal Church in 2018 recommended next steps toward revision of the prayer book begin at a diocesan level, with dioceses establishing liturgical commissions and engaging in the process of liturgical experimentation and resource creation. It also established a Task Force on Liturgical and Prayer Book Revision (TFLPBR) to examine the process of Prayer Book Revision and all the resources created within dioceses. It is important that the TFLPBR hear from the broadest possible range of voices so that any potential future revision of the Prayer Book reflects the desires of the entire Episcopal Church.


Resources for Juneteenth

Juneteenth National Independence Day (June 19) – sometimes known as Jubilee Day, Emancipation Day, Freedom Day or Black Independence Day – was named a federal holiday in 2021 by the U.S. Congress and signed into law by President Joe Biden. It celebrates the end of slavery in Confederate states, which officially began with the Emancipation Proclamation in 1863. It took two and a half years more, until June 19, 1865, for slaves in Texas to be freed when victorious Union soldiers enforced the order. Regional celebrations of the day have been held since 1866.

The 2021 meeting of Diocesan Convention adopted a resolution establishing Juneteenth as a diocesan observance beginning June 19, 2022. The resolution also directs the Los Angeles deputation to General Convention to begin working toward inclusion of the holiday in Lesser Feasts and Fasts. Click here to read more about the Diocesan celebration

Click Here for resources and a liturgy from the Diocese of California. 

Resources for LGBTQ+ Pride:

The following resources are offered to enhance worship to and with the LGBTQ+ community during Pride Month (June) and throughout the year: 

Resources for Common Prayer – A project of the Task Force on Liturgical and Prayer Book Revision

Existing Liturgies – Online links to available liturgical resources authorized and/or published by The Episcopal Church and/or Church Publishing Incorporated.

In Spirit & Truth: A Vision of Episcopal Worship – A book of essays inviting conversation about the direction of our worship life.

Prayers for Peace in a Time of War – Compiled by the Commission on Liturgy & Music.

Drink This, All of You – Guidelines on returning to communion.



Commission Chair: The Rev. Dr. Michelle Baker-Wright

Commission Vice-Chair: The Rev. Kay Sylvester

Commission Members: The Rev. Katie Cadigan, The Rev. Randall Day, Mr. Christopher Gravis, The Rev. Norma Guerra, Ms Melissa Hayes, The Rev. Anthony Keller, The Rev. Roberto Martinez-Morales, The Rev. Dr. Thomas Ni, Mr. Craig Philips, The Rev. Dominique Piper, The Rev. Brent Quines,The Rev. Keith Yamamoto

Staff Officer: The Rev. Canon Susan Russell