(213) 482-2040

Commisions & Program Groups

Bishop’s Commissions

Diocesan Commissions are appointed by the Bishop as seem useful to the mission of the diocese, and as required by the Canons of the Episcopal Church.

+ Bishop’s Commission on Architecture

+ Bishop’s Commission on Climate Change

+ Bishop’s Commission on Gospel Justice and Community Care

+ Bishop’s Commission on Liturgy and Music

+ Bishop’s Commission on Ministry

Interim Chair for Formation & Transition Ministry: The Rev. Thomas Discavage
Associate for Formation & Transition Ministry: The Rev. Norma Guerra

Program Groups of Diocesan Council

Program Groups of Diocesan Council exist to help the Bishop and his staff in formulating and carrying out plans and programs approved by Diocesan Convention. The Bishop appoints all members of the program groups for three-year terms in accordance with the Diocesan Canons (Canon XIX, Sections 19.07 through 19.12).

+ Communications and Public Affairs

Chair: Marisol Barrios Perez
Staff Liason: Bob Williams

+ Ecumenical and Interreligious Life

Chair: Ravi Verma

+ GLEAM: LGBTQ Ministry

Rev. Christopher Montella

+ Global Partnerships – Kim Ericson; Jerusalem Committee

Randy Heyn-Lamb

+ Mission Congregations

Rev. Canon Kelli Grace Kurtz

+ New Community

Bishop Diane Bruce

Other leadership is made up of:  the Rev. Carlos Ruvalcaba, the Rev. Roberto Martinez, and the Rev. Antonio Gallardo for Latinx ministry; Canon Suzanne Edwards-Acton and the Rev. John Limo for Black ministries; the Rev. Dr. Mary Crist for Indigenous ministry; the Rev. Brent Quines for Asian American ministries, as well as Filipino ministry; and under the EAM umbrella is the Rev. Dr. Fennie Chang for Chinese ministry, the Rev. Yein Kim and the Rev. Aiden Koh for Korean ministry, and Ms. Ann Ito for Japanese ministry, and the Rev. Peter Huang for The Gathering

+ Social Justice (PRISM, IRIS, Sacred Resistance)

+ Stewardship and Financial Sustainability

Bishop Diane Bruce

+ Youth and Young Adult Ministries

Gabe Vazquez-Reyes

+ Wellness (AIDS/HIV, Recovery, Accessibilities, Mental Health, Parish Nurses)