Church of Our Saviour, San Gabriel, will be the site for the ordination of five new priests on Jan. 9. The service is closed to all but direct participants; the diocesan community is invited to view the service on Facebook or YouTube.

Bishop John Harvey Taylor will ordain five to the priesthood at 10 a.m. on Saturday, Jan. 9 at Church of Our Saviour, San Gabriel, in a service that will be livestreamed on the diocesan Facebook page and YouTube channel.

Ordinands are the Rev. Elizabeth Ann Piraino, the Rev. Greta Ronningen, the Rev. Steven Phillip Swartzell, the Rev. Courtney Ann Urquhart Tan and the Rev. Walter Joseph Thorne.

On the same day, Bishop Jennifer Baskerville-Burrows of the Diocese of Indianapolis will ordain the Rev. Andrea Thornton Arsene to the priesthood on Taylor’s behalf in a service at St. John’s Church in Lafayette, Indiana, also on Jan. 9. Arsene is a curate at that parish. Baskerville-Burrows also will ordain new local deacon Rebekah Sims during the service, which will be livestreamed at 8 a.m. PST (11 a.m. EST) on the “IndyDio Virtual Abbey” Facebook page.

Due to the pandemic, only those directly involved in the rite of ordination (all of whom have been contacted individually) will be permitted to attend the service at Church of Our Saviour. The diocesan community is invited to witness the service on Facebook or YouTube, either live or later on demand.