The Rev. Sheryl Kujawa-Holbrook, priest of the Diocese of Los Angeles, professor at Bloy House (The Episcopal Theological School in Claremont) and dean of Claremont School of Theology, is among the provincial and churchwide delegates named by Presiding Bishop Michael Curry to represent him at the 62nd session of the United Nations Commission on the Status of Women (UNCSW) in New York City, NY, March 12 – 23, 2018, according to a Nov. 30 announcement from Curry’s office.

Kujawa-Holbrook is a professor of Anglican studies at Bloy House (The Episcopal Theological School in Claremont), and and vice president for academic affairs, dean of faculty and professor of practical theology and religious education at Claremont School of Theology. She is author of a dozen books and many articles, training manuals, curricula and reviews. Among her recent books are: God Beyond Borders: Interreligious Learning Among Congregations, the first book in the Horizons in Religious Education Series: Pilgrimage – The Sacred Art. Journey to the Center of the Heart; The Heart of A Pastor: A Biography of Edmond Lee Browning; Born of Water, Born of Spirit; and Injustice and the Care of Souls: Pastoral Care in Marginalized Communities.

The delegates will attend the official UNCSW proceedings at the United Nations and will represent the Presiding Bishop with the Episcopal Church and Anglican Communion delegations in their advocacy at the United Nations, including joint advocacy with the group Ecumenical Women.

Other delegates named by Curry are: K. Holly Carter, Diocese of Massachusetts; the Rev. Annalise Castro Pasalo, Diocese of Hawaii; Damaris De Jesús Carrasquillo, Diocese of Puerto Rico; Lois Frankforter, Diocese of Connecticut; Maria Gonzalez, Diocese of Olympia; Stephanie Gray, Diocese of Arkansas; Claudia Haltom, Diocese of West Tennessee; Dr. John Harris, Diocese of Oklahoma; Clare Hendricks, Diocese of Montana; Pragedes Coromoto Jimenez de Salazar, Diocese of Venezuela; the Rev. Myra Kingsley, Diocese of Arizona; Annika Lewis, Diocese of Colorado; Maire Powell, Diocese of Iowa; Lydia Simmons, Diocese of South Dakota; the Rev. Stacy Walker, Diocese of Chicago; and Amanda Ziebell Mawanda, Diocese of Minnesota.
Presiding Bishop’s staff members accompanying the delegation are: Lynnaia Main, Episcopal Church representative to the United Nations; Katelyn Kenney, Julia Chester Emery United Thank Offering intern; and the Rev. Glenda McQueen, staff officer for Latin America and the Caribbean.

Presiding Bishop Curry named the Rev. Deborah Jackson of the Diocese of Florida as the Episcopal provincial delegate to the Anglican Communion delegation.

The 2018 UNCSW Priority Theme is “Challenges and opportunities in achieving gender equality and the empowerment of rural women and girls.” See more here.

For more information contact Main at