Nominations are open for officers to be elected at Diocesan Convention Nov. 30 – Dec. 1, and the bishops and canon to the ordinary invite church members to consider standing for one of the available offices.

“Governance in The Episcopal Church is all about collegiality, collaboration, and community discernment,” Bishop John Harvey Taylor said. “You offer a precious gift to God by putting your name forward to serve on these deliberative bodies and put your experience, insights, and creativity to work for the benefit of our whole diocesan family.”

Candidates must be nominated by a member of the clergy or an elected lay delegate, and must send in a nomination form (here) and a photo, brief biography and a statement of reasons for running for office, or vision for the office. Instructions for submitting this information are here. Nominations should be submitted as soon as possible. Nominations also may be submitted (with a completed nomination form) at the convention.

Offices open for nomination are:

Canterbury college chaplaincy programs
One clergy or lay director will be elected to a one-year term on the boards of directors for Canterbury Irvine, Canterbury USC, and Canterbury Westwood.

Corporation of the Diocese
One clergy and two lay members of the board of the directors, each for a three-year term.

Commission on Ministry
One clergy and one lay member will be elected, each for a three-year term.

Diocesan Investment Trust
One trustee, clergy or lay, for a four-year term.

Diocesan Council
One clergy member will be elected for a three-year term; one clergy member to fill a two-year unexpired term; and one lay member for a three-year term.

HFS (Holy Family Services) Adoption and Foster Care
One clergy or lay diocesan representative to the board of directors will be elected for a three-year term.

Secretary of Convention
One clergy or lay person will be elected to manage all aspects of Diocesan Convention, as well as clergy and church records throughout the year.

Standing Committee

One clergy and one lay member will be elected, each for a four-year term.

For information about Diocesan Convention, click here. For election information, and more about the specific offices, select “Nominations” from the navigation bar or click here.

EN Staff